Baby quilts and personalized pillows

At my age, most of my friends are done having kids. But two of my very best friends recently announced that babies were joining their families. One is pregnant, and the other adopted a baby girl when she was just under one year of age. I don’t live near my friends anymore, and wasn’t invited to their showers, or first birthdays. But I knew I wanted to do something to celebrate their joy. I chose a free jelly roll pattern from the Fat Quarter shop, and was thrilled when they put up a new post on how to make the pattern bigger. I had been under the impression that one jelly roll could give me two baby quilts, but didn’t realize a baby quilt is, in fact, suitable for a baby and not  really a growing child. So I bought another jelly roll. I’m using V and Co.’s Color Me Happy line, which has a gorgeous collection of pinks, blues, greens, grays and whites, that are easily separate to make a boy and girl quilt. In fact, that’s how I originally came up with this idea. I saw her post on creating two baby quilts from her Simply Colors line, which I could not buy anywhere anymore.

appliqued letters for baby

When I started cutting, I quickly discovered a lot of leftover fabrics from my sewed up jelly roll strips. I used them to create letters that I will applique to create personalized pillows. I can’t wait to get home to sew each night. It’s great to have a fun project to work on that I know will bring joy to my friends.

20140503-212912.jpg

Your comments are welcome!

