Pork Banh Mi

I have wanted to eat a pork sandwich that combines French and Vietnamese influences ever since I saw it on the Great American Food Truck Race.But every recipe looks way too complicated. I have no fear of brining, which many recipes call for, but I just didn’t have the time. Then I found this recipe on Food52. It’ offered a simple and fast way to marinate and grill the pork. The recipe for the pickled radishes and onions scared me a little since it looked like way too much liquid. Instead, I cooked down 1/2 cup of cider vinegar, 1/2 cup of water, 4 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of salt. Let me tell you, the sweet and savory crunch of the radishes, combined with the salty, sweet pork, was absolutely divine. Slather some good mayonaise on your French bread, pile on the pork, radishes, fresh jalapenos, sliced cucumbers and cilantro leaves.

We took these sandwiches to the beach to celebrate Father’s Day and they were a hit! Let me know if you try it.

Your comments are welcome!

