Creating a quilted wall hanging of home

A while back my husband convinced me to create a quilted wall hanging of our home. This was no easy feat. It took months to create, but here it is.

image
Our homestead quilted wall hanging

It all started when I quilted this simple folk art wall hanging for my sewing room. It was basic shapes sewn together from scraps. He said, hey, that looks like our house (not). Why not make one that really is our house.

image

After much searching on the internet for a way to create my house quilt, I went to my local fabric store where I was surprised to see one of the salespeople had created one. It was beautiful. The secret, she told me, was applique. She created the house in layers, building each layer with more details as she went along. Fine, thought. I’ll give it a try.

To say this was a big endeavor is an understatement. I couldn’t have done it without my husband’s help. As an artist, he has an eye for perspective that I simply don’t have. I took a photograph of the house and taped it to the wall. He pulled out his light box, and we traced the house onto fusible material, which I painstaking cut out and ironed onto fabric. I wish I had given the fabrics I chose more thought. I just didn’t expect my house quilt to come out very good.

Over the months, I put the quilted wall hanging together, and Peter would stop by my sewing room, take a look and tell me lines weren’t straight, or my 3D perspective was off. Then he would fix it. He’s great that way.

When it came time to quilt the wall hanging, I signed up for Leah Day’s Free Motion Quilting class on Craftsy. I can’t say enough good things about that class. It gave me the confidence to start free motion quilting this piece on which I had worked so hard. I used a lot of her designs on my quilt. You can see them here.

image

I know it’s not perfect, but it was my first real attempt at free motion quilting.

image

Six months later, here’s the final result.

image

 

What do you think? Have I inspired you to make one? If you do, let me know.

Your comments are welcome!

