House of Sand and Fog

Have you read the House of Sand and Fog? My mom recommended it, and I am now recommending it to you.

house of sand and fog

I had vaguely heard about the book; knew it had been published a few years ago, that they made a movie out of it, but never had interest in reading it. She told me she couldn’t put it down. That made me pick it up.

The novel tells the parallel lives of a disposed Iranian soldier and a California dreamer, whose paths cross in the most conflicting way. I don’t want to give anything away, but let’s just say that you can love and hate both of them equally. The characters are so well written, and the book flips between each of their situations, which spiral out of their control quite quickly.

This book kept me awake at night as I thought about the ethical dilemmas each faced, who was right, who was wrong, and how the system got the best of them. It was really a powerful read. I can’t wait to see the movie.

Your comments are welcome!