DIY Infinity Scarf

I am obsessed with following quilting and sewing bloggers, and I’m equally obsessed with fabric. My favorite online store is Hawthorne Threads, which has a terrific selection of fabrics in all sorts of weights.

Last week, when I was leaving for work in my new coral sweater (I thought I looked so snazzy – I had paired it with a white tank and light gray slacks), my teenage daughter quipped, “Mom, you need some patttern with that outfit.” I’ve seen a lot of infinity scarfs on the blogs and on Hawthorne as they show off their new fabrics. I knew exactly what I needed.

As soon as I got to my computer, I clicked on Hawthorne and checked out their “sale” rack. I found this gorgeous cotton lawn called Metamorphis in Bittersweet by Valori Wells for $9.95 per yard.

infinity scarfSo how much did I need? One yard didn’t seem long enough; they wouldn’t let me buy half a yard, so I splurged and bought 2 yards. I laid the material out, folded it in half lengthwise, cut it in two, then followed this DIY video on how to make an infinity scarf in 15 minutes. She used jersey. I love the feel of the cotton lawn, but I could see myself making one from jersey too.

Here’s the final product with my gorgeous coral sweater! It goes great with so many things. And, I have enough left over to make one for my sister as a gift. Or, I could pair it with a coordinating fabric and create a whole new look.

The infinity scarf possibilities are endless!

diy infinity scarf cotton lawn

Your comments are welcome!

