Perfect grilled BBQ chicken

bbq chicken
Delicious and moist, grilled chicken thighs and legs with BBQ sauce

I was on a mission to make barbeque chicken that was moist, juicy, and not burnt. I find those three attributes do not occur in unison when we use our grill to cook chicken. The time needed to cook bone-in chicken on the grill quickly dries it out, and the barbeque sauce always ends up burnt because of its high sugar content. Enter Tyler Florence.

Using this Food Network recipe, I brined my chicken thighs and legs for two hours. I’m a dark meat girl, and bone-in chicken is my favorite over white, boring, skinless, boneless breasts. For this chicken, I left the skin on and soaked it in a brine made from water, brown sugar, salt and garlic for about two hours. That was the key to its deliciousness.

Another important factor is drying the chicken. Soggy, wet chicken will not give you a crispy skin. So about an hour before cooking, I took it out of the brine, dried it thoroughly with paper towel, then put it back in the fridge to dry some more.

Next step is grilling. And only for 10 minutes. The total cooking time is one hour. I was skeptical about leaving the chicken on the grill for just 10 minutes, but that evaporated when my chicken skin caught fire and burned. I should have watched it more closely. After 10 minutes, however, it was off, and I had my grilled, smoky flavor. The rest of the cooking takes place in the oven.

Off the grill and ready for the oven.
Off the grill and ready for the oven.

While the chicken is cooking, I created Tyler’s homemade BBQ sauce, and it was a winner. Leave out the thyme and feel free to replace the molasses with honey. I eyeballed all the ingredients, and it came out delicious. Just watch how much vinegar you add. How much tang you want is a personal preference. I like it sweet and hot so I kicked it up a notch with some cayenne pepper.

bbq sauce

Serve with creamy potato salad and fruit salad.
Serve with creamy potato salad and fruit salad.

The chicken came out fabulous. Juicy, crispy, fall off the bone good, sweet, tangy, everything you could want from grilled barbeque chicken. I urge you to try this. We ate it with homemade potato salad, and we’re having the leftovers tonight.

Your comments are welcome!

